top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Moser

Sankalpa

Updated: Jun 28, 2022


At the beginning of class, we sometimes ask for you to set an intention for your practice. What does this really mean and why is it important?


The Sanskrit word is Sankulpa or resolve. It's similar to a New Year's resolution. This is designated as your focus or what you would like to achieve in your practice. What is it that you will focus your mind on. What do you wish to achieve?


An intention isn't something you need to make up or really think about, it should already be there. It's a heart felt desire or a calling.


Here are some helpful tips:

  • Make it relevant - What's on your mind? What would you like to accomplish?

  • Make it personal - What are you passionate about?

  • Short and sweet is best

  • Let it be positive

  • State it in the present tense

How about some examples:

  • I will be kind, even under pressure

  • I will start each day with an open heart

  • I will make an effort to make someone smile everyday

  • I am enough

  • I am at peace with my decisions



https://pureflow.yoga/what-is-sankalpa/



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page