top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Moser

The Old and the New

We seem to get so stuck in the here and now and what we are used to with our day-to-day routine. No one likes to change as we are creatures of habit.


Every month last year, we practiced letting go and making room for the new with each full moon. Yoga teaches us to accept the here and now and adjusting to being more present. It's easier said than done.


Some of you may have heard me mention that we had our kitchen remodeled this fall. It was a huge undertaking that we could have never imagined. Try to picture 6 weeks with no kitchen, not being able to cook or walk through your home to get to the back door. We had planned by creating a make-shift kitchenette in the sunroom, but did I mention the dust? Holy heck! I found myself stopping at the nearest fast food or quick market for a warm meal, not so healthy...... That's another story as I felt like crap for weeks to come from not eating fresh fruits and vegetables like I normally would.


Now that the renovation is complete, we have a shiny new kitchen and second bathroom in our tiny, old home. Was it worth it? I would say, yes. Our kitchen and little bathroom were outdated and worn. We also found termite damage that needed repair along with 6 layers of old flooring.


So, the new is good, but I am a creature of habit and here we go. I'm going to the wrong place to find the trash can. Oh my goodness, the refrigerator isn't where it used to be. All of my systems and routines are turned upside down. I can't find my favorite peeler. I'm getting used to it now, but it was totally stressful.


What does all of this mean? We go through phases. We don't want to let go of the old because it is comfortable and what we are used to. The transformation can be uncomfortable, but when it's over.... It takes time, but all of the effort and uprooting settles to allow us to readjust to the new to relax and enjoy.


Would I do it again? Absolutely. Like any change, a new job, a new car, a new family member. Allow yourself some time, embrace the change and remain present. It's all a process and when it's over, you'll be able to reflect back and see how far you've come.


This new year, take a look back and notice what subtle, yet significant changes you were able to make in your life to create a better you!


Happy New Year! Laura

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page